Home   Education   Awards 


AACVPR Awards 

Each year, AACVPR recognizes the best, brightest and most innovative individuals in the cardiac and pulmonary rehabilitation industry with the prestigious AACVPR Awards. This year, AACVPR hosted an awards showcase to honor recipients. Congratulations to all!


L. Kent Smith Award of Excellence

AACVPR presents its most prestigious award to an individual whose significant and unique professional contributions have had a major impact on the delivery of cardiovascular and/or pulmonary rehabilitation.

Gerene S. Bauldoff, PhD, RN, MAACVPR

Session: Thinking Outside of the Box or How Do I Get Out of the Box? 

In cardiac and pulmonary rehabilitation, we change people’s lives for the better.  However, changes are quickly approaching that will alter how we deliver cardiac and pulmonary rehab.  Are we anticipating the changing patient audience for our services?  How do we embrace nimbleness in our programs? 

Learn more about Gerene in this video!


Michael L. Pollock Established Investigator 

AACVPR presents this award to an individual who has made significant research contributions to the field of cardiopulmonary rehabilitation

Mary A. Whooley, MD, FACP, FAHA, FACC

Session: Home-based Cardiac Rehabilitation: Key Points from the 2019 AHA/ACC/AACVPR Scientific Statement

Dr. Whooley will summarize and provide key take-away points from the 2019 Scientific Statement on Home-based Cardiac Rehabilitation that was recently published by the American Heart Association (AHA), American College of Cardiology (ACC), and AACVPR.

Learn more about Mary in this video!


Thomas L. Petty Distinguished Pulmonary Scholar

AACVPR presents this award to an individual who has made outstanding clinical contributions to the field of pulmonary rehabilitation


Martijn A. Spruit, PhD, PT

Session: Pulmonary Rehabilitation Is Like a Swiss Army Knife

Many pulmonary rehabilitation programs are limited to exercise training and education. However, the clinical complexity of the patients with COPD justifies a comprehensive pulmonary rehabilitation program, also including psychology, occupational therapy, dietician, etc. In this talk, Professor Martijn A. Spruit will give you his view on the rationale and content of a true interdisciplinary pulmonary rehabilitation program.

Learn more about Martijn in this video!


Presidential Recognition Award Recipients

The Presidential Recognition Award is an opportunity for the outgoing AACVPR President to formally recognize and thank individuals and organizations who have made significant contributions to the president’s term and the association as a whole.


Steven J. Keteyian, PhD, FAACVPR


Million Hearts



Distinguished Service Award Winners

The Distinguished Service Award is presented to individual(s) whose leadership, ideas, and committee work have significantly benefited AACVPR as an organization.

Tamara Garwick, MA, ACSM, RCEP, CES, FAACVPR 




Outstanding Affiliate Award

This award recognizes an affiliate that supports and encourages the mission and goals of AACVPR through member activities, educational opportunities and professional development


Wisconsin Society for Cardiovascular and Pulmonary Health & Rehabilitation (WISCPHR)


Dr. Linda K. Hall Innovation Award

The purpose of the Innovation Award is to acknowledge those programs that have enhanced their delivery of care for a patient population in a unique and creative way.


Morton Plant Mease Hospital Pulmonary Rehabilitation